Where did the lullabies go?


It’s quarter to 2 in the night

I take the sideways

This way and that way

This way again

Where did the lullabies go?

Why my eyelids do not tend to close?

That small space within the window panes

From that space,

Falls straight the street light.

That timid bulb

That plays the folly

Throws the light on my optics

Steals my repose

Steals everything

Where did the lullabies go?

Why my eyelids do not tend to close?

I bethink the days of my babyhood.

Those light pats of the mother

And the glorious lullaby

There followed the deep sleep

How magical the pat was?

A grown up, I am now!

There comes the myriad of thoughts

Those thoughts of fear of the future and introspection

Hours of perennial feud

Between me and the much awaited siesta

I will sleep! I will one day!

Where did the lullabies go?

Why my eyelids do not tend to close?

Thank you for your comment!

