My first book and the story behind it


15230765_10154077579476938_2745288564009254679_n

It was 26th November when I received the first set of my book “The Bobby Pins and other short stories”. Since, I hadn’t informed anyone about the new feat, the surprise and ecstasy was equally an add on. Authoring a book was something my parents never thought I would do or even my extended family. I kept the first copy in my father’s hand and the reaction came like this.

“Oh! Another product from your shopping spree.” He said.

“No, just see it properly.” I answered.

“Oh! I see. Oh!” He exclaimed.

“Yes, exactly! I answered.

“You published a book? When did you do this?” He inquired.

“I have been working on this for the past 3 months.” I replied.

Next 20 minutes went in syncing in the fact that their daughter did something they never believed in.

Ladies and gentlemen, that is how my book attended its first reception. I know, there is a long way to go.

I thank Notion Press for the team they allotted. I thank George, the project manager, the design and copy editing team which worked on the backstage and gave an eye-to-detail to every phase.

My book is a compilation of 13 short stories based on various events of life such as hit and run case, acid attack, social media addiction, widows, and much more. Every story is different from another. Writing is not easy, neither is reading. You need patience, perseverance, and dedication to learn. Honestly speaking, people do not read much. In every 7 people, only 2 read. Knowing this fact, I wanted to write that was easy to understand, grasp and impactful. I knew my audience will not sit for long and read so the language has been kept lucid, engaging and simple. The book is available at online stores like Amazon, Flipkart, Snapdeal, Paytm, Shopclues, Notion Press, and Infibeam. It is NOT available at Kindle and physical stores. Please get it online.

It is a thin book and the stories have been divided into parts to make it easy for people to read. Every story has its own share of influence and I am sure each time, you read any from the book. To all those, who have purchased it, please share your feedback and your points for improvement. I thank my parents again for always being by my side.

 

4 thoughts on “My first book and the story behind it

Thank you for your comment!

